Student Spotlight – Bhavin Chauhan

Bhavin1. Where are you from? Where did you grow up?

I am originally from India, and came to America when I was 11 months old. I grew up in two different states. First being in Texas until the 4th grade, and later Michigan until 2012, where I then moved to Tennessee.

2. What previous degrees and educational experiences have you earned?

I have earned a Bachelor’s of Science in Biology with a minor in Environmental Studies here at the University of Memphis. I have also worked in several biology related fields such as pharmacy tech, nurse assistant, bioresearch, and lab analyst.

3. Where do you work?

Currently, I work as a Graduate Assistant for Tiger Blue Goes Green event, under the supervision of Dr. Levy. I plan to continue working here at School of Public Health with Dr. Jia and Dr. Banerjee in the department of Environmental Health.

4. What got you interested in public health?

The environment is what got me interested in Public Health; particularly global environment problems/disasters. I realized that longevity and good health can be achieved for everyone if we solve the environmental problems that occur daily and affect us in many ways. It is not enough to just cure the disorder, but rather prevent and eliminate the possibility of it to occur. As often said, “an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.” We are all connected to the biosphere, and I believe that if we look at the larger picture to tackle the original upstream causes, our livelihood would benefit greatly.

5. Why did you choose our MPH program?

Having a passion for the environment, I interacted with many of my advisors and professors during my undergrad days about where I would like to be going next. After graduation, I had a wonderful opportunity to work in a cancer lab. It got me thinking about ways to prevent cancer and other health related diseases, which in large part are caused by environmental stressors. So I decided to visit the Public Health department at UofM, where I met Dr. Jia and Dr. Banerjee. After talking to them, I felt that this is what I wanted to do and where I wanted to be. 

6. What do you like most about our School of Public Health?

The students and faculty members is what I love most about our School of Public Health. Everyone at the school is so passionate about what they believe in and the changes they can make to the PH cause. The many qualities they keep at heart and show enthusiastically all play a role in SPH being a place of knowledge-driven, professionalism, and fun environment.

7. What one public health change would you like to see in the Memphis area?

I would like to see more initiations and actions towards environmental concerns that impact the greater Memphis. The particular environmental concerns would be the bio/chemical exposures that are prevalent in the city from air and food sources.

8. How would you like to apply your MPH degree to your future goals and career?

I would love to join the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). My goal is to be involved in coordinating/consulting solutions for environmental problems throughout the nation, and bringing those ideas forward on a global scale.

9. What are you passionate about?

I am passionate about helping people and the environment. A harmonious co-existence of human, science, technology, and nature is something I would like to bring about. I would also like to advocate new methods and practices that can reverse the affects of current environmental damages caused by humans (climate change, global warming, etc.).

10. What are your hobbies/interests?

I love biking, hiking, working out, and hanging with friends. When I am indoors, I tinker around with computer software and electronics, read books, listen to music and on occasion play video games.